Check Me Out! It’s My Birthday and I’m Awesome!

It’s my birthday!

happybirthday

and this is what 44 looks like.

julia

Basically, my days revolve around looking fabulous, shopping all day with unlimited funds and sitting around naked and waiting for my billionaire, sugar daddy to get home.

wine

This dream was cut short after waking up at 5am – because I officially can not mix wine and birthday cake (or any dessert). As I laid in bed at the crack of dawn, this blog practically wrote itself.

The Pig Pen silence was not planned and I had several blogs drafted over the past few months, but nothing felt right to publish. Who really gives a shit?

Wow, look at me! I ran my fourth marathon and qualified for Boston. Who Cares?!

poop

Christmas was stressful with family and preparations. Join the club! Wait, my story was special, the cats almost murdered the elf on the shelf:

IMG_5161[1]

I almost burned down the townhouse complex making monkey bread:

IMG_0772[1]

My entire family wore matching pajamas because we are perfect!  No malfunction or drama here!

pjs

 

 

The new year kicked off and surely I could write the one blog that stands out from the zillions of motivational articles on Facebook and everywhere you turn. How to be happier, healthier, richer…blah blah blah …all in 10 simple steps! I couldn’t come up with the winner but I did read a great post from Mark Manson asking a great question. An uncomfortable question. What pain do you want in your life?

fire

Hmmm. It hit me. I’m OK with struggles and that is MY personal approach to making my life story. Sure I like to share the bumps and bruises through this blog, because laughing at myself feels a lot better than spiraling into a dark hole of self defeat. It all comes down to how I want to achieve the super star status … in my own mind, of course!

My reality is a pig pen and continues to keep me grounded.  The balancing act leaves me with so many torn feelings, at times. For example, flying home from work meetings yesterday and so excited about my job, the company, the future, but guilty about being an absentee parent. You can’t win…or can you?

I arrive home to the best birthday gift ever. My daughter made a 3-D farm for me.

IMG_5362[1]

I’m getting older and totally comfortable in my own skin. I wouldn’t trade it for anything and am so lucky to have a good life story to tell.  Stay tuned for the next bump in the road!

 

 

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Check Me Out! It’s My Birthday and I’m Awesome!

  1. Letisha says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! As a working mom too, we all have those pangs of fear about not being there for everything. Your darlings love you and are watching how dedicated you are to family and career. They are seeing you live life and problem solve. Little eyes and ears watching, ever watching. They know you love them more than life itself! I have found that extended family and friends have also written on their hearts lessons that have helped them to be wonderful young adults. So, lighten up – you are wonderful! And just wait – 50 is even better! I’m almost 2 years in and loving it!

  2. Pingback: The Babysitter Affair – Shit Hits the Garage | Pig Pen

Leave a Reply

