The 15-year Tri-Umph that Took a Village

IMG_4867[1]

Yup. That happened.

If you are new to the Pen, read the background on this 15-year, triathlon nemesis that finally ended in a personal victory.  https://alisonguzzio.wordpress.com/2013/09/21/sweet-lincolns-mullet-a-second-triathlon-disaster/

IMG_4865[1]

This past weekend was the Dewey Beach sprint triathlon; an easy feat for many, but a big achievement for this knucklehead who just couldn’t quite get it right for the three previous attempts. I woke up to perfect weather conditions but was still nervous as hell. I was a complete Spaz.

spaz

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_Qh2Bx6TIM

The day started with me knocking over my coveted Starbucks latte, rechecking my stuff about 100 times and headed up the beach, almost to the half mile starting point, only to discover I left my goggles in the transition area.  Sigh. One might think it was headed down the same rat hole, but not this time!

It goes without saying I could not have done this alone. I have an incredible support system that helped with training and the completion of this 20-mile course. Family, close friends, acquaintances and some complete strangers are to thank for the long-awaited success.

IMG_4875[1]

The equipment suppliers: I don’t take this as serious as most might recommend, but borrowed equipment works (or can break) just the same as purchased.  If the red carpet highlights who you are wearing and jewels borrowed I can do the same! An amazing arancio-orange bike from Jen, wetsuit and bike pump from Heather, helmet from Jill and goggles confiscated from the kids.

IMG_4872[1]

Training: I have bothered and interrupted many people at the Kennett Area YMCA pool and need to thank Jill, Tjede, Kevin, Jen, and everyone else who offered tips and tricks.  I heard you but still backstroked the entire 1/2 mile. The biggest difference this year was more than the fact I didn’t drink any beers the night before and dabbled in products from the Isagenix system; it was the training at Advanced Fitness with Steve and chiropractic adjustments with John from Back to Health that gave me a physical advantage. Bring on the TRX bands, kettle bells and rope squats for the upcoming Philly marathon!

trx

The on-site support system: The original inspiration for running this specific race is my friend, Pat, and seeing him at the start of the race gave me that extra encouragement and positive outlook that he carries with him every day. The world only gets smaller and I met a new friend, Jen, while setting up our stations. As we talked we realized we grew up a few miles apart, she also had a farm and we went to the same grade school.  I was so happy for the distraction!

IMG_4877[1]

We trekked the ½ mile up the beach strategizing and my stomach dropped as I realized my goggles were back in the transition area.  Thanks to Kevin who sprinted back to retrieve them just in time (you are so welcome for the unexpected workout!) Lastly, thanks to the lifeguard that gave me a buoy to hold onto and the final words of encouragement half-way through. In the words of Yukon Cornelius, I felt like yelling LAAAANNNNDD HOOOOO!!!

IMG_4879[1]

The music industry: The timing of two top hits, Omi’s Cheerleader and Jess Glynne’s Hold My Hand, were more than serendipitous.

The laughing ‘with me’ crew: From the first, really poor attempt, back in 2000 I have had my parents, Lysa, Megan, Dave, Greg, Sue, Brenda, Jill, Sandra, Diana, my kids and many others who have heard the story through the years encouraging me to try and overcome the infamous debacle.

Facebook friends: As silly as I find Facebook at times, the ‘congrats’ and ‘likes’ from so many people from all stages of my life is so appreciated and makes this so special.

At the end of the day, this was more than just a race. We all know that what’s on the horizon is a mystery but I know I can handle the challenge of each new day and celebrate every small victory; thanks to every person that makes that possible.

IMG_4873[1]

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

