Consumer Report: Trouble With My Wubble

Last week of school, people. Summer is upon us and kids will be up your ass 24/7.

getstackled clip

Many of you know my fondness of the 70s and that is not just because I still rock a pantsuit and encourage my kids to do the same.

IMG_3878[1]

My best summers were spent in that decade.  They were simple and spent outside with my imaginary friends. I climbed trees, had a bike taxi service, built roads in the stone driveway, picked berries, hung out with the pigs and played until dark or until my parents rang a bell to call me in. Swim team consumed many mornings and evenings. Four square with a treat of Swedish fish were the keys to pure bliss.

IMG_4180[1]

(Me – bottom left. Apparently not happy when forced to sit on the boys side of the photo. Three other Burns girls in photo – see if you can find them!)

I have done a decent job keeping my kids on this path. This is what they are doing while I write this blog. (Arm hurting from patting myself on my back.)

IMG_4295[1]

However, sometimes I do fall victim to the new and improved toys that appear magical through the power of advertising. I purchased the ‘Wubble’ and imagined the biggest party add-on for summer 2015!

wubble

As soon as I opened the box and read the directions, I knew I had an epic fail on my hands. It required four D batteries and petroleum jelly. Ummm, really? Reminds me of the scene in Parenthood looking for the flashlight.

dildo

I blew it up and the kids went nuts for a whopping two hours …until it popped. Who didn’t see that coming? Now it is being used to slap the shit out of each other.

IMG_4296[1]

Summer mantra – KISS. Keep it Simple Stupid.  Another blogger published a great read on giving your kids a 70s summer. http://www.scarymommy.com/10-ways-to-give-your-kid-a-1970s-kind-of-summer/

This is my checklist until August and yes it includes sugary drinks, digging in the trash for treasures, building forts, too much TV and playing with the boxes from all my Amazon deliveries.

Tip of the week: Save yourself the $20 and don’t buy the Wubble. Instead, purchase this frother from Amazon for the most amazing DIY latte. It is life changing and does not require batteries.

IMG_4284[1]

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

