Summer Happy Feet Might Just Be a Little Ugly

It’s Memorial Day weekend and time to kick off summer 2015! Feet are exposed in summer and I love it. The memories made from childhood to current day include walking barefoot on the stone driveway, hot sand, scorching pavement, mulch, and other surfaces to dipping toes in the cool ocean, pool and lake water. Wearing flip flops and any type of open toe shoe is a gift of the season.

hot sand

I had beautiful feet and proudly showcased them as long as the warm months would allow. Really. A woman who worked the cash register in the Ursinus College cafeteria confirmed it for me. It’s one of the most memorable compliments I have ever received. I was wearing my favorite sandals and she said, “Wow, you have the most beautiful feet.” Boom.

22 years later the term, “road hard and put away wet”, comes to mind. Granted, this is not something you want to be called as it conjures up the image of a Mary Magdalene, if you will, or one who typically wears leather, has a shitty tattoo and a feathered haircut.

hooker

My current feet seem to fit this definition. I might be to blame as I am notorious for leaving on my sweaty socks for hours, getting cheap pedicures and torturing these flippers with high heels. How can I be so cruel when these two have carried me through thick and thin and certainly have witnessed blood, sweat and tears. Literally, this toe was covered with blood, sweat and tears just last week.

IMG_4169[1]

The right foot still holds the crown of beauty noted back in 1994, but as you can see, the left foot took the brunt of the mileage, dance moves, ass-kickings on the tennis court, and constant choice to wear non-podiatrist, endorsed shoes.

Nail fungus can take a while to really become a full-blown problem, but life changes quickly.  [You may quote me on this.] It doesn’t always feel that way, but babies morph like the speed of light to toddlers and then to young adults. My oldest son already has bigger feet than me at age 12. [This is no small feat as I proudly wear a women’s size 10. Try and stop me on the foot puns.]

The one photo I knew I wanted was of my kids’ little, unblemished feet. The third birth was a wake up call and I captured the perfect and tiny feet and hands. [Evy, you’re welcome.]

IMG_3877[1]

Soon after this photo, I had all three kids at the pool with me. I may or may not have been enjoying a cocktail in bare feet while Evy (3 months) was safely strapped in the stroller, Robbie (5) playing in the pool and Charlie (2)… hmmm, no sign of that guy. Mom-of-the-Year award in jeopardy.

poolside

Everyone at the pool started looking and calling for him. We checked all bathrooms, snack shop, tennis courts; no Charlie. The golfers were alerted and began blocking the main road. Fear spiked my body temperature and tingled every sensory gland from my head to my toes.

About 10 minutes of frantic searching, one of my friends went back in the women’s bathroom and saw two little feet hanging down below the stall door. The voice behind the door said, “I need a wipe.”

toilet

It only took two more years until I officially pulled my name from the award submission list: https://alisonguzzio.wordpress.com/2012/12/03/mom-of-the-year-award-goes-to/

I’m proud to announce these feet, especially ‘lefty’ who lost it’s nail and is on the mend, got me through another Spartan race and my 9-year old’s first 5K.  Training continues as races are scheduled through the year and no worries, recap blogs will basically write themselves.

old lady bike

I’m putting my best foot forward to make this a summer to remember. So far a few camping trips, a week’s vacation in Avalon, the infamous sister’s weekend, fishing when ever possible and a few walks to the ice cream store are on the schedule.

Happy summer and let your piggies be free!!

pig

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Happy Feet Might Just Be a Little Ugly

  1. Pingback: The Babysitter Affair – Shit Hits the Garage | Pig Pen

Leave a Reply

