All Zippy About Fall Fashion

It’s fall y’all! This time of year gets me very excited. I love the weather, the seasonal food and the change in fashion. Mashable is loving it too – great post: http://mashable.com/2013/09/09/fall-gifs/

tumblr

I am all ‘geeked up’ and organizing my closet. This is no joke, I am taking the Pinterest-bitches on. Purchases include storage bins, clear containers, new hangers and even a label maker; an inspiration from the hot lunch, crazy-ass nail patrons (in case you missed last week https://alisonguzzio.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/insane-in-the-mombrain/).

I am very methodical about my shopping. The objective is to create complete outfits, including accessories, without spending a lot of time and money. I map out what work trips, social events and everyday comfort wear I might need over 90 days and research online list of trends, peruse magazines and honestly, check out Pinterest. I start with the high end stores, see what is worth the investment, or go to cheaper stores for the knock offs. Holy H&M. That store has stepped it up and now you can purchase online. Plus, they now have a home division. Where was the PR around this new launch? Geez, Louise – check out the very cool new line and have it delivered to your door: http://www.hm.com/us/pre-autumn-ladies

1f25b2a8166734c9e5f74039649958cf

blankSkinny pants are still the hot trend this fall. I am thrilled as my favorite outfit back in the early 90s included my Express riding pants. Damn, I thought I was styling in the tan pants, turtle neck and brown blazer.

tight tan pants

Interning at a small company, this was my Friday ‘work-to-happy-hour’ staple ensemble. Until that one dreadful day it all came undone.

I went to pick up the company pay checks in a large office building. As you entered through the front doors, the cafeteria was straight ahead. It was lunch time and there were a line of people. I strolled in there and was literally turning heads; my own little runway if you will. I sauntered into the elevator to find mirrored doors, perfect for a head to toe review.

  • The weather was crisp and cool with no humidity – hair was actually looking good, check.
  • The extra-padded bra filled out the turtleneck, check.
  • I look down at my tan pants and gasp in horror at a horrendous zipper malfunction. Without going into explicit details, I was not wearing proper undergarments. Hello kitty.

domestic-long-hair-black-cat-512x384-117

Then to make matters worse, I was laughing so hard I forgot to hit the elevator button and the doors reopened to the same set of people laughing at me! As you can imagine, no matter what trends and great new outfits I put together, I am most concerned about being zipped up and buttoned down. Heed the warning.

Tip of the Week: Great easy dinner in the crock pot.  Chicken breast and a bottle of Stubbs Citrus & Onion marinade. Cook for about 6 hours, shred with fork and serve on flour tortillas. Delicious!

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All Zippy About Fall Fashion

  1. Ronnie says:

    Love the saying, the pics, the story and the recipe (sounds yummy).

    Also, the idea of planning your events 90 days out makes so much sense. No more standing in front of the closet 60 minutes before you have to leave trying every, single garment on in the hopes of finding something right!!!

  2. Pingback: Top 5 Blogs of 2013 – Pig Pen to Resign? | Pig Pen

  3. Pingback: Uncovering My Authentic Self: Step One Discard the Grandma Kickers | Pig Pen

Leave a Reply

