The Terrible 40s: Future Album From Taylor Swift

Dear Taylor Swift:

Girl, I do know about you and I am feeling “22” myself. I have stayed a fan even when others around me deem that to be ‘uncool’. Maybe it’s because your middle name is Alison (1 l), you are from Wyomissing, PA – only 30 minutes from where I reside in Kennett Square, PA, or the fact that I stick to what I like despite what others are saying or doing. Guess that makes us both hipsters.

swift fan

I am a little ahead of you in years and I want to share my wise, old womanly advice. I am about a year and a half into my 40s and I have heard how hard this age can be, but oh snap, this is wiggity-wiggity-whack. Prepare yourself for the best album and song titles of your life when you reach this stage of life.

kris kross

Why you ask? “Everything Has Changed”, yet with so much responsibility, pressure and dependents there is minimal opportunity to make desired “Changes”. I love change. It’s my “Holy Ground”.  There wasn’t an exact time, but “The moment I knew” this was going to be a complete shit sandwich, I put on my “Superman” (prefer Wonder Woman) outfit and prepared for the future.

wonder woman

Taylor, this where it gets really “Treacherous” so listen closely. I am no longer “Innocent” and I live by the mantra to “Never Grow Up”, that is not everyone’s view point. I like new physical, mental and philosophical challenges. I am not going down without a fight. In my daily life, I want to make “Sparks Fly” and be a change agent.

fire tough

Here’s the news flash: Changes you make in your 40s are sometimes met with insane judgement. Fashizzle.

Whether it’s a new diet (try JJ Virgin), work out (adventure races are making tons of money off the 40 somethings), career (thank God we both found what we love to do), car (can’t you reward yourself?), divorce (this can be applied to friends as well; sometimes you just have to say to certain people, “We are Never Ever Getting Back Together”) and many other improvements or deviations from the norm can be perceived as a mid-life crisis.

The dreaded MLC.

kevin spacey

Can’t it just be the pursuit of happiness or trying to make every day the “Best Day Ever”?

Back to the bitch slap of the 40s and why “I Knew You Were trouble”. [The 40s, not you Taylor.]

Work, marriage, children, money, health, friends, aging parents, house, religion, status, traditions, schedules and a boat load of catty-ass people (men gossip too) who are far worse than any paparazzi. You nailed it chica, all they are is “Mean”.

wha devil swift

Aren’t we all just trying to find our “Place in this World”? If you choose to “Begin Again” is that such a bad thing? If you choose to “Stay Stay Stay” put in your job, in your home, in your marriage are you just giving up and filling yourself with a false, happy sense of the proverbial “Love Story” or are you really content and happy and wouldn’t wish for anything more?

I can only joke because otherwise there would be “Teardrops on My Guitar”. Life is hard. Be “Fearless”. Otherwise it just ends up being, “Sad Beautiful Tragic”.

Here is a simple life ‘success’ test I found in the Urban Dictionary website.

At age 4, success is…not peeing in your pants.
At age 12, success is…having friends.
At age 16, success is…having a driver’s license.
At age 20, success is…having sex.
At age 35, success is…having money.
At age 50, success is…having money.
At age 60, success is…having sex.
At age 70, success is…having a driver’s license.
At age 75, success is…having friends.
At age 90, success is…not peeing in your pants.

WTF, it doesn’t have a test for the 40s? Are you kidding me? Here is my suggestion:

At age 40, success is…peeing your pants with laughter and finding joy in overcoming new challenges every day.

Tip of the day to all readers: visit http://www.urbandictionary.com/ and learn how to talk like a Millennial and other fun tips on communicating in this crazy world. Plus, don’t forget to download all the songs noted in this blog. Taylor Swift rocks and so can you (even in your 40s)!

537175_4893049599177_1770769218_n

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

