Summertime: Ticks, Tricks and Moon Over My Hammy

There’s a Skeeter on my Peter! Not exactly what Charlie, my 7-year-old, yelled from the shower, but he did have a tick on his privates. So gross (and painful to remove) but that is the direct result of little boys peeing outside.

Welcome summer and all your bountiful gifts!

alison pool

I have been thinking about a “dental calendar” blog. It’s interesting to try and predict what will happen during the six month cycle and reflect during the teeth cleaning. What else do you have to think about with a bunch of tools and suction devices in your mouth? Plus the songs that play mysteriously seem to match my mood or bring back fond memories.

At my last dental appointment, Bob Seger’s “Night Moves” came on and I was nostalgic thinking about summertime when I was little kid. It was so much fun with my siblings driving me around in our bright blue Maverick listening to Meatloaf, Journey, Foreigner and other rock hits. I spent my days walking around the pastures with my pigs, picking berries and driving the tractor in and out of the driveway while listening to my favorite Rick James song, “Super Freak”, on my Walkman. One day that I will never forget, I rode my bike to the ice cream store and my friend dared me to moon the next car. I did. It was my Dad.

 al cool

With Memorial Day weekend upon us, I thought I would revise the dental calendar idea and make predictions for the next three months:

Play: Two vacations are scheduled including one week at Turtle Point Marina in Ohio and three weeks in Dewey Beach, Delaware. I predict ‘almost’ easy car rides (now that car video system is up and running), one puker, bating over 100 worms for fishing, photos that make it look picture perfect and memories that will last a lifetime.

Career: I can’t reveal what I have in the pipeline, but things are heating up. I predict at least one new great client, domestic and international travel and a babysitter that makes a nice chunk of change before leaving for college. My three little entrepreneurs are already plotting new ideas for their juice stand. I predict frozen treats and anything they can find around the house to be top sellers.

Wellness: I see a lot of cuts, scrapes and bruises but overall healing of all body parts. Even though I am officially middle-aged, my goal is to be back up and running by July 1. I will stay on the JJ Virgin diet (toughest part is no dairy, eggs and gluten) but will fall off the wagon to consume at least 10 s’mores, a few slices of pizza, margaritas, ice cream and my favorite hot dog on the beach! Checking for ticks will continue nightly.

Family: Communication will continue to improve with family members because we all know festering anger and hostility stinks worse than day old clam bake trash left baking in the sun. There is a 50% chance of us adopting a dog. Alerting my husband to this fact in this blog counts as good communication, right?

doggy

I will continue blogging over the summer but expect a full report on the trials and tribulations for play, career, wellness and family right after Labor Day.

Tip of the week: Wake up to the sound of thunder, wonder how far off it is, hum a song from 1962 and listen to the night moves before autumn closes in.

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summertime: Ticks, Tricks and Moon Over My Hammy

  1. Ronnie says:

    Love this part!!

    One day that I will never forget, I rode my bike to the ice cream store and my friend dared me to moon the next car. I did. It was my Dad.

    Priceless!!!

  2. Throwback idea… “Just say no”… to the dog, that is. Take it from a mom with experience. Love thy neighbor’s dog. Hate those ticks– Kenny had one in the weenis area once and it was so big he thought he grew a new testicle. Took a few months and some hard core antibiotics to get over that stupid thing.

  3. Pingback: Top 5 Blogs of 2013 – Pig Pen to Resign? | Pig Pen

Leave a Reply

