Inadvertent Sex Ed

Years ago I accidently CCd a reporter on an email I was sending to my team outlining our pitch strategy. Luckily, the reporter I copied was the top target and she replied with a snarky but amusing email and took the interview with my client.

What was an embarrassing and careless mistake turned into an interesting strategy. I have yet to use it again on a reporter, but I keep it in my arsenal to be carefully played out one day on something huge.

My kids are growing up quickly and I feel like I have to strategize daily on their sleeping and eating habits as well as manners, education, friends and more. My oldest will be 10 later this month. I was not prepared and certainly had not thought about my strategy regarding ‘the conversation’ just yet.

The other night he was rummaging for something in my room (probably money – see https://alisonguzzio.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/the-tooth-fairy-is-a-thief/) and came across a book in my dresser.

With a red face, giggling and obviously very embarrassed, he asked me in a shrill voice what was the book he found and why did I have it? I had no idea what he was talking about, but since he couldn’t even find the words to explain what it was I knew it wasn’t good.

I opened the drawer and found the ‘Book on Foreplay’ with a naked couple on the cover. I am asking you to not judge me because a) I received this book for my wedding shower b) I had no idea it was in there c) clearly it has not been referenced in 12 years. Moving on…

Flipping through the book, there were plenty of pictures and words that Robbie has never even thought of before. Luckily, he did not go through the book. He simply stated, “The picture on the front made me feel awkward.”

After he showered, he asked me again about the book. My response was, “That is how babies are born. You will learn more about it at school next year.” My work here is done, right?

Tip of the Week: Why am I still cold and craving soup? If you are also suffering the winter blues, here is a great soup by Sara Foster. http://www.inspired2cook.com/2010/04/06/chunky-chicken-vegetable-minestrone/

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

