50 Ways to Celebrate a Sister!

Good role models or mentors need to be more than just successful at one specific skill. I believe and admire how people handle talents, situations and life earn that honor.

To celebrate my sister Lysa’s birthday, I want to thank her for being an incredible role model throughout my life.

With nine years between us, there was a large generation gap when we were younger. My first memory was taking her to college with my Mom. I rode in a very small space in the back of the station wagon surrounded by all of her belongings. I helped contact paper her dresser drawers in the dorm room, ran to and from the car collecting what I could carry and left in awe that she was living on her own. I would do anything she said at the time, I was the little girl and she was all grown up.

Now the age difference is obsolete. (BTW – we are just elegantly aging, never growing up!) We have similar interest and have become very close friends. What I have learned from her is the intrinsic drive to be happy. It is a choice that only can be made and obtained by an individual. No one else is responsible for making your life feel complete nor can they.

With so many variables from family, work, friends, health, etc to alter your state of mind, it really is a personal choice to be happy.

Once this is your course, you gain confidence and are genuinely happy and content. All of this enables you to lend a hand to others and influence them in a positive manner as well. As a parent/role model, this lesson is top of my list.

I met with my son’s teachers for conferences this week. Still fairly new to all of this, these meetings feel like performance reviews to me. So when both teachers stated how the boys get along with everyone and are always wearing a smile at all times, I gave myself a raise. Mission accomplished, so far.

What melted my heart was hearing how my first grader loves to write and that he is actually very good. She showed me stories and they were all about his family, fun things we do, places he likes to go and funny stories. He mentioned Chubby Balboa’s and how much he recommends the wings. He also mentioned they have a bar, but he thinks you have to be 16 to sit there. World, meet your next blogger!

You are never too grown up for role models. We all still need someone to help shape how we behave in school, work, relationships, during difficult decisions and life at large.

We started celebrating this monumental birthday last weekend and there are plans continuing well into the end of March. I think we might actually pull off 50 days of celebrating Lysa!

Tip of the week: If you haven’t already, check out Living with Lysa. http://lysastylski.blogspot.com/ A very open and honest blog about life.

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 Ways to Celebrate a Sister!

  1. trojan zbot says:

    Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is valuable and all. But just
    imagine if you added some great photos or videos to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and videos, this blog could undeniably be
    one of the best in its niche. Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

