Are you a Cotton-Headed Ninny-Muggins or Is It the Stress Talking?

I have a difficult time understanding why some people act like jerks. I get stressed, I lose patience and I find some people annoying but overall I try to not unleash the beast. (Ok – I did once over the lack of crunch coat topping in a Dairy Queen and my family will never let me live it down.)

My wonderful friend and neighbor game me a book that might help me get to the bottom of it. It is titled, Assholes, A Theory. I haven’t started it yet, still reading Killing Kennedy, but I will report back once I am finished.

I came across the recently published Stress in America survey with an infographic (see below) noting the most and least stressful jobs. The survey results gave me some insight as to why people verbally attack, behave rudely or are just plain mean to co-workers, family, friends, acquaintences, etc.

According to the study released last week, 18- to 33-year-olds and 34- to 47-year-olds report an average stress level of 5.4 on a 10-point scale, compared with the national average of 4.9. The report indicated that Americans define a healthy stress level as 3.6.

People are stressed by work, money, and job stability. I get it. What I don’t get and cannot condone is bad behavior. If only everyone could be genuinely sweet and endearing like Buddy from Elf.

The survey goes on to find many don’t do enough to manage stress and feel there isn’t enough stress management support from health care providers. Overall this stress could be affecting one’s health and can cause a person to engage in unhealthy behaviors including sleep deprivation, increased alcohol consumption, overeating, etc. The survey concludes half of millennials and Gen Xers get irritable or angry due to stress.

And there is my answer.

Oh and if you think Pig Pen does nothing but take mud baths and bask in the sun all day, the infographic below shows that PR ranks among the most stressed-out professions in America. I guess that is my free ticket to act like a Cotton-Headed Ninny-Muggins!

Tip of the Week: Thank every military personnel you know and come in contact with at random!

infographic-careercast-stressful-jobs-2013

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

