Uncharted Territory

Every day is an unknown. As an individual, you can try and live sheltered, secure and without adventure. If you have read any of my blogs, you know I don’t live like this. Uncharted territories call to me. Usually.

I can think of one example where I chose to not jump in with both feet. I was on a chartered dive boat in Turks and Caicos and the dive master was giving instructions. I could barely get the words out that a humpback whale, bigger than our boat, was swimming just feet away. We had all of our equipment on and everyone started jumping in. I thought I was somewhat of an expert since I had spent a month working and diving on the Great Barrier Reef, but “hells to the no” was I jumping in with Shamu the killer whale.

Business is all about uncharted territories. Sure you need to watch out for the whales, they are easy to spot, but it’s the bottom feeders and change in ecosystem that will rock your boat.

Look at how we consume music. My guess is most of you utilize digital downloads and streaming through iTunes, Amazon, Pandora, etc. Spotify is a company out of England trying to overturn iTunes. The iTunes business model decimated Tower Records and Sam Goody before either had a clue their industry was about to revolt. Bain Consulting produced this chart to show the ‘Real Death of the Music Industry’ and how much the average American paid for music from 1973- 2009.

http://theunderstatement.com/post/3362645556/the-real-death-of-the-music-industry

001_A_music_bain

I have worked with startups for a long time. I ride the boat into uncharted territories every day. I am really excited about my latest adventure. Stay tuned for details!

Wine pick of the Week: Ménage à Trois Cabernet Sauvignon. Not only is this wine delicious, but the irony of the person (my aunt who is an ex-nun) that introduced it to me and the name make me laugh every time. Talk about uncharted territories!

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

