Time For Magic

“Time sometime flies. Time sometimes leaps. Sometimes, time stands still.” These were the first few lines in the Arden Theatre’s adaptation of Cinderella. There was darkness on the stage and the story begins with a somber tale of a deadly disease taking many lives, including Cinderella’s mother. It is in these moments that time stands still. Three weeks ago today, time was frozen. I could barely breathe and sadness, despair and fear filled my body and mind.

Life somehow goes on and strength emerges even in the most dreadful circumstances. But how do we find our way back from this darkness? My only answer is magic.

Small magical moments start to bring hope, trust and happiness back into our lives. It is these moments of kindness, love, surprise, laughter and even embarrassment that stories are born and the light returns to life’s stage.

There were three moments that stood out to me over the past three weeks that solidified my theory about magic.

Embarrassing humor: I was at the liquor store stocking up for the upcoming holiday festivities. The manager asked the young, college boy to help me carry my two cases of booze to my car. As I balanced the one case on my knee and opened the back of my car, I was filled with ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ embarrassment as the only item lying in the back was a pair of handcuffs. Albeit they were toy and I explained they were my kids, the guy laughed nervously and responded, “yeah right” and hurried back into the store. This little piggy laughed all the way home.

Nature’s surprise: Christmas Eve we attended a beautiful children’s mass. The two children singing and leading the choir were incredibly talented. I don’t think there was a dry eye in the place. At one point it was very dark in the church and the back doors opened as more people filed in. All I could see were beautiful, huge snowflakes falling from the sky. I was spellbound. There were indeed new angels in heaven.

Glorious anticipation: My favorite part of Christmas has always been the minutes right before you come down the stairs to find a wonderland of gifts. I loved it as a kid and I adore watching my own three children waiting anxiously to walk down the steps and begin tearing through their gifts. I like to drag it out by making coffee, preparing breakfast and waiting for additional family members to arrive. The tradition is my best gift but just like every great moment in time, I know that once it begins, time will fly and it will be over for another year or possibly forever.

Tip of the Week: Instead of buying gifts my Mom and Dad treat us all to a play at the Arden theatre, located at 40 North 2nd Street in Philadelphia. After the show, we go to local places to eat. Just looking for an ice cream treat? Try Franklin Fountain at 116 Market St. Interested in a great Italian restaurant? Try Spasso Italian Grille 34 South Front Street

Happy New Year!

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time For Magic

Leave a Reply

