The Tooth Fairy is a Thief

Dave and I have both worked from home for the past 10 years. This is all our children know and I believe they have learned valuable lessons from it. For instance, we talk about hard work, money, taxes, job skills, client relations and if I give you ‘the look’, when you are peering in my closed office doors, that means I am on the phone and step away immediately.

Robbie is nine. He loves math and therefore has a strong affinity for cards and money. Or, there is a strange gene on my husband’s side that causes one to obsessively watch money very closely and we play a lot of poker, pass the trash and other card games for money.

We have rectified the iTunes situation. See “Pig Pen Loves iTunes” blog if you don’t know the story. Robbie now pays me cash when he would like to download an app.

A few weeks ago, he gives me two dollar bills for an app and I put them in my wallet. Within a day or two Charlie loses a tooth. Exciting, the tooth fairy leaves $2! I hear Robbie asking Charlie to see the money. Doesn’t every young boy like to examine bills for Liar’s Poker?

The boys come running downstairs and Robbie is outraged, Charlie looks confused. Robbie begins to tell me that upon careful review of the cash, one was the exact bill he gave me for the app a few days prior. How the hell would he know that?

He then goes onto explain that he marks his cash. [Insert jaw dropping silence.]

Thinking quickly, I said maybe the tooth fairy was extremely busy, was short on cash and was just borrowing from me? Nope, the tooth fairy is a thief and Robbie was on the case.

I am not sure if Robbie will be a c-level executive, in Gambler’s Anonymous or based on his lemonade stand ingenuity, a salesman.

If you live on my street you know what I am talking about. Robbie and his little entrepreneurs go door to door if the stand itself is not drawing the forecasted cash flow.

Nonetheless, never a boring day here in the Pig Pen.

Tip of the week: Easy and delicious soup: http://family.go.com/food/recipe-644151-tortellini-and-spinach-soup-t/

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tooth Fairy is a Thief

  1. Brad says:

    As a guy who’s been subject to the door to door sales prowess (my portable speakers are still just a little quieter than my actual iPhone), I for one am sold on his skills! Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Inadvertent Sex Ed « Pig Pen

Leave a Reply

