Mom of the Year Award Goes To…

I was called a free spirit in nursery school and now consider that a compliment. I try to foster the same creative thinking and independence in my three kids.

This morning I was off to a great start for a Monday. I was busy making my list for work, the house and all holiday preparations.

All the while, my four year old daughter was considering what to wear to school. I mentioned (yelled from my office) maybe she should wear the cute, Christmas tree dress I just washed. Plus, it was easily accessible since all the clean laundry is spread out in piles all over my room.

She was in the mood to wear green. She opted for the stellar t-shirt from Aunt Megan that states, “Mommy drinks because I am bad” with jeggings. She has worn the shirt before and thankfully her teachers think it is funny.

I arrive at school and see all the kids dressed up, hair combed and bows neatly resting in several girl’s perfectly straight hair. It’s picture day. [Insert curse words].

I did receive the information and threw it away. Why mark my calendar for something I am not interested in purchasing? So now the class picture will be a great memory for all of her little classmates, Evy Guzzio’s mom drinks and is clearly distracted. (See last week’s blog)

Hello holidays and goodbye ‘Mom of the Year’ award.

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mom of the Year Award Goes To…

  1. Brad says:

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can I buy those pictures!!?

  2. Lynette Kenton says:

    If it makes you feel better, there are no mommy awards. It’s perfectly fine to be a witty, fun-loving one.

  3. suziegaffney says:

    This is the best story!! One of those that will go down in history with your kids (and then school!) I agree that you HAVE to buy those pics!

  4. Pingback: Insane in the Mombrain | Pig Pen

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Blogs of 2013 – Pig Pen to Resign? | Pig Pen

  6. Pingback: Summer Happy Feet Might Just Be a Little Ugly | Pig Pen

Leave a Reply

