Hurricane Sandy: Hunger Games Becomes Reality

My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone with homes and/ or businesses damaged by the hurricane. We have weathered the storm without damage, and for that I am grateful, but there were events that must be shared.

As much as I like to entertain, I am not a movie fanatic. I view blockbuster hits well after they have left the theatres. Last weekend, I watched Hunger Games and strangely, the film based on incisive satire of reality television shows, became my reality.

The storm made my family freak out, overindulge before the ‘assumed’ oppression, form alliances and in the end, try to ensure and boast they were the last “tribute”
standing.

I watched Dave meticulously prepare, obsessively track the storm and visibly become more nervous with each news report; more so than during the birth of our three children. This is not an exaggeration. A few hours after arriving home from the hospital with our first child, I stood exhausted, starving and waiting for pain meds while watching Dave leisurely mow the lawn without a care in the world. Thanks goodness a sister ‘sponsor’ came to my rescue.

With candles lit, plenty of food and refreshments and neighbors joining in on the fun, I actually enjoyed the break from everyday life. However, the kids must have believed our “district” would not be replenished with food for some time. I was caught in a vicious cycle of a massive food consumption followed by the same, whiney phrase, “I’m still hungry, what can I have”? People, we will eat again. There will not be a food shortage that requires one of you to fight to your death!

Anyhoo, I myself am not perfect. Shocking I know, but this blog speaks the truth. I have been eating healthy and avoiding sugar, until Sandy hit. Surrounded by really bad influences disguised as friends, I consumed Hurricanes, Dark and Stormy cocktails, lots of wine and began scarfing down everything from bourbon-glazed bread pudding, chocolate chip muffins to a disgusting amount of Halloween candy. I can only imagine I am not the only one plotting a new workout regime and diet after this debacle.

My two boys created an alliance well before the eye of the storm was headed straight for Kennett Square. This left my four-year old daughter literally roaming without a shirt and shoes, she didn’t stand a chance. So the boys, thick as thieves, had a blast until the four-hour game of Monopoly with eight players, came down to a battle between siblings. We have been here once before and have the video footage to show how this turns out. Watch here: http://youtu.be/nFGo9P05gtw

The preparations, the equipment, the food, water, liquor supply and most important, the skills that one possesses will make the difference between life and death in this scenario (ok, sanity and intensity of a headache). Overall, my family came out of Sandy unscathed with memories that will be rehashed every time a new storm is brewing.

Contrary to my attitude towards storms, I do practice a very different approach to business.  This motto is borrowed from my mentor, Greg Stock, and is great advice. Never be out-smarted, out-prepared or out-hustled.

Tip of the week:(frozen) Snickers, peanut butter squares or Take 5.

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

