WARNING: FULL FRONTAL NUDITY

I have been debating if I should completely expose myself or use this blog as a vehicle to deliver a positive message.

Public nudity? Social media has become an interesting forum for self-expression. You definitely learn a lot about people through posts, ‘selfies’, and shared content. Personally, I don’t think selfies, especially nude ones, are a wise approach.  (Truth be told, I tried to take a few and it should be called ‘Uglies’.) However, if you are a fan, you are not alone. There is now a selfie portrait gallery in London: http://www.moving-image.info/national-selfie-portrait-gallery/

duck-lips

If you shy away from the duck faced, sexy pose, this blog post on selfies is hysterical: http://wittyandpretty.com/2013/11/01/the-16-worst-types-of-selfies/

In all seriousness, I might as well have posed nude and snapped a few awkward self-photos for what I am about to share.
naked selfie

If you have been curious about the name, Pig Pen, it really is an accurate name for my blog and not because I love curly-tailed, little oinkers. I have been known to be a little messy.

I thought I would magically become June Cleaver on my wedding day, but that didn’t happen. This just exacerbated the Pig in a bigger Pen. I was married in November 2001, started my PR consulting biz in January 2002, pregnant by September and two months later moved from a 1000 square foot house in Alexandria, VA to a five bedroom home in Kennett Square, PA.

mushroom

First bad decision: not hiring a cleaning service and a decorator. This is where I have decided to use a little discretion and not expose too much of my personal life. You get the idea though: newly married couple, joint bank account and different views on spending [cough] or saving.

Second bad decision: setting up my office in the master bedroom sitting room.

Fast forward to 2009. Three kids, knee deep in diapers, still no cleaning help and at this point I have been spending roughly 18 hours a day, for the past seven years, in the confines of my minimally decorated bedroom operating my consulting business, nurturing my offspring and sleeping.

The house was now somewhat furnished, but the toy room, a nice room with French doors, had more crap than we knew what to do with. Bins were overflowing on the floor, battery-operated, satanic toys would randomly go off, and nasty sippy cups with congealed, moldy milk could be found on a regular basis. Oddly enough, the kids never played in there.

I can’t remember the exact moment, but I believe I looked a lot like Will Farrell in the scene from Old School when he takes one in the juggler: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0pFfiB21nRY

juggler

Still not medicated, but probably should have looked into something, I moved into the play room and set up my desk and computer. I was really excited for the big windows and I eagerly accepted the self-appointed job as the neighborhood watch. This was my new headquarters.

IMG_2048

This was embarrassing. Clearly, I have taken the long, difficult road to figure out a great lesson in life. Don’t just get by or put on blinders. Create a plan and follow through with the right expertise to accomplish goals that make you proud.

My road to recovery. First, I met a woman named Pat Celli. She owned a business in Chadds Ford, La Maison. When I walked in the store I was in heaven. Pat came to my home to offer some tips, which turned out to be full-blown redecorating plans. My husband was not onboard.  

So to make it possible to achieve my personal goals, Pat came in with a team and set up a completely decorated room while Dave was out of town on business. Living room, done! Next business trip, the family room was transformed! Lastly, we went to my in-laws for Thanksgiving and when we returnd, tada – the dining room was completed! Only took a decade of marriage for me to become a genius.

I loved everything until one day this summer I entered the lobby of my world headquarters and thought, “what the hell am I doing?” I have big plans going into my 12th year of business and want to be proud of my work space. I reached out to my friend, Michelle, who is starting a decorating business and we created a plan. (Using Pinterest I might add, follow me and start pinning: http://www.pinterest.com/aguzzio/boards/)

I have a great handyman that installed the hardwood floors and painters that are amazing. Being financially responsible, we shopped at Habitat for Humanity, Consign It in Kennett Square, Marshall’s and TJ Maxx.  Michelle is very artistic and used chalk paint to refurbish the old desk we found. I present the new AG Consulting office space, and I could not be prouder!

IMG_2151[1]

If you are located around Chester County and would like the names and phone numbers of any of the people that I mentioned, just send me a direct message.

About alisonguzzio

A marketing and public relations veteran, Alison Guzzio has directed projects for a range of high-tech, pharmaceutical, security, ecommerce, manufacturing, chemical, global trade and broadband companies. Strengths include positioning companies to maximize visibility among key stakeholders such as media, investors, channel partners and customers. Alison has a strong understanding of business objectives and she effectively translates this into results for her clients. In addition to her experience managing the demands on emerging companies, Alison is skilled in taking products from conception to roll-out, developing creative marketing plans, generating media coverage along the entire product lifecycle and leading brand awareness campaigns during critical growth stages.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

